Despite being widely acknowledged as one of the most important German dramatists since Bertolt Brecht, Heiner Muller (1929-95) still remains relatively unknown in the English-speaking world. This collection of plays aims to change that, presenting new translations and opening up his work to a larger audience. Collected here are three of his plays - "Philoctetes", "The Horatian", and "Mauser" - that together constitute what Muller called an "experimental series," which both develops and critiques Brecht's theory of the Lehrstuck, or "learning play." Based on a tragedy by Sophocles, Philoctetes dramatizes the confrontation between politics, morality, and the desire for revenge. The Horatian uses an incident from ancient Rome as an example of ways of approaching the moral ambiguity of the past. Finally, Mauser, set during the Russian civil war, examines the nature and ethics of revolutionary violence. The plays are accompanied by supporting materials written by Muller himself, as well as an introduction by Uwe Schutte that contextualizes the plays and speaks of their continued relevance today.

Divisions: ?? 3980600Jl ??
College of Business and Social Sciences > School of Social Sciences & Humanities
ISBN: 978-1-906-49782-8, 1-906-49782-6
Last Modified: 27 Dec 2023 09:56
Date Deposited: 11 Mar 2019 16:41
Full Text Link: http://press.uc ... bo11456809.html
Related URLs:
PURE Output Type: Foreword/postscript
Published Date: 2011-08-23
Authors: Schütte, Uwe (ORCID Profile 0000-0002-4825-1912)



Version: Draft Version

| Preview

Export / Share Citation


Additional statistics for this record